Patient Reviews

The GI professionals at San Antonio Gastroenterology Associates are dedicated to providing compassionate care to all of our patients. By utilizing new and innovative technologies and advanced treatment approaches, we are proud to be one of the largest gastroenterology groups in the San Antonio, TX area. We take the time to make sure our patients feel heard and that their treatment plans are created with their needs in mind. You don't have to take our word for it — please take some time to browse through reviews left by past and present patients.

5.0 Review from J.L. Source: Google May 25 2023

"Excellent"

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"He is such a caring kind good listener I would recommend him in a heartbeat."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"God bless Dr. L. Otero, M.D. he is a wonderful person and a good colonoscopy doctor."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Great Doctor good service with all the patients"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"The doctor is fantastic. The office runs smoothly and appointments are on time. I highly recommend this doctor."

5.0 Review from I.G. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Wonderful staff excellent doctor"

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Love Dr. Otero. He is caring, understanding and patient. He takes time 2 listen and explain everything."

5.0 Review from N.P. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Excellent Doctor"

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Richard Otero has been my doctor for over 15 years. He has always treated me with kindness, patience, and he’s always been caring and make sure my gastro problems are addressed properly. He is very professional and does a great job."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"The staff members I came in contact with were very professional, compassionate and pleasant/friendly. I would definitely recommend Dr Otero and this clinic to family and friends."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"My entire has been seeing Dr Otero for over 30 years. He is so great."

5.0 Review from R.V. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Very kind knowledgeable caring Yes I have and will continue to recommend him"

5.0 Review from K.L. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Everyone was professional and knew what they were doing. An excellent experience."

5.0 Review from D.F. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I've had the opportunity, and privilege to have Dr. Otero as my gastroenterologist for many years. Doctor Otero has always treated me with respect and with dignity. His experience, and professional care Doctor Otero has kept me healthy and cancer free. I definitely recommend Doctor Otero to all veterans, friends, and family."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. Otreo very calming, before procedure."

5.0 Review from E.L. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Mr. Otero is a very patient MD and gives you the time to listen to his patients. He also takes the time to make you understand what is going on with your health your body and help you to understand what need to be done better for each one of his parents. Thank you and your staff for being patient and making us feel at easy when being put under for all procedures"

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very professional, and friendly I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Greatest doctor ever"

5.0 Review from D.W. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I'm here to say I was very pleased with the whole situation and I would recommend him to all friends and family"

5.0 Review from Á.M. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr.Otero is a Great Doctor very Professional"

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"My recent experience with Dr Otero and the entire staff at his facility at 520 E. Euclid was excellent. I underwent both a colonscopy and endoscopy and was apprehensive about having them done at the same time. My worries were immediately diminished when I arrived for my procedures. Everyone I encountered from start to finish was kind, caring, and extremely efficient. I definitely recommend Dr. Otero and his staff to anyone who needs either of these procedures done."

5.0 Review from O.O. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"It’s been over ten years that I have not been able to swallow. Previous doctor diagnosed me for hiatal hernia. I had three consecutive procedures with this same doctor dilating my oesophagus over the years but I was frustrated with not being able to swallow and sometimes with deadly choking episodes. My current primary care physician recommended Dr Otero to me. Dr. Otero assured me that I should be able to swallow normally again after my procedure. He was so kind and I quite appreciate his encouraging words. I am swallowing again!. Thanks to Dr. Otero. I will recommend him to the world."

5.0 Review from Y.M. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Most caring compassionate professional Doctor ever"

5.0 Review from Y.S. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"He was a caring loving person. He is very good Dr. He knew what he was doing during my surgery.I trust him and his advice. I would highly recomend him."

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Otero is a awesome Dr., he truly cares about his patients and does everything in his power to help them get better. He is also very personal and caring, He is the best Dr. I have ever known and I trust him completely, his staff are also awesome."

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Otero is a patient doctor. I reccomend him highly to anyone needing assistance with gastroenterology."

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Clear & forthright in findings & need for follow-up."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I felt comfortable as soon as I met Dr. Otero.He treated me with such care and after suffering with my condition for many years he was able to diagnose n give me the treatment needed n literally gave me my life back.THANK YOU DR OTERO! GOD BLESS YOU N YOUR BRILLIANT MIND N KNOWLEDGE."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have been a patient of Dr. Richard L. Otero since 1999. Dr. Otero has cared for me and my mom. I am eternally grateful for the type of caring, compassionate physician he is and to add he has a wonderful MA John and a wonderful nurse in charge Lori. Dr. Otero continue to be a blessing as you always have been. Grateful Patient D. Seward"

5.0 Review from D.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My first time at the doctor office. I feel he is a very knowledgeable and experienced doctor. He knew exactly what I needed done."

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Otero is personable and knowledgeable! Most of all, he listens to my concerns and takes the time to hear me. If you are looking for a doctor with wonderful bedside manners and expertise, look no further."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"It is my pleasure to let you know that Dr.otero is one of the best Dr. I have meet your health is in good hands one hundred percent.thank you DR.Otero for your service with our community .may God bless you and your wonderful staff always."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I truly believe that Dr. Otero has the most important QUALITY needed for anyone working in the Healthcare Industry. That QUALITY is CONSCIENTIOUSNESS. I would recommend him to any and everyone who requires and needs the Colonoscopy Procedure."

5.0 Review from T.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"He has been my Doctor for 11 years now and has always helped me out when I needed him. He has preformed at least 15 procedures on me, and both Dr. Otero and his Staff have always done a great job. I trust Dr. Otero so much, That I recommended him to my Mother; when she needed a gastroenterologist. She has been his patient for one year now. Dr. Otero really cares about his patients, as has always been caring when I needed to tell him about personal things. He always has a smile on his face and makes me feel at ease, whenever I see him before a procedure. I can’t say enough good things about Dr. Otero and how I feel about him. He is the best there is."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Otero cares about my health. He treats and makes recommendations for my gastric problems. He's a great doctor."

5.0 Review from A.B. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I have been a patient of Dr Richard L. Otero for over 15 years. Dr Otero is an awesome doctor, caring and compassionate, he is very professional and explains everything so you understand. The best Gastroenterologist in San Antonio. Agnes Brown"

5.0 Review from R.Z. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Otero and his staff are very professional. The hospital is clean and organized. I went in three time over the course of a month. Each time, I was treated with care and respect."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr richard otero is the nicest professional dr.ive seen in his field of medicine in a long time the office staff are polite an professional as well."

5.0 Review from D. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Our families Gastroenterologist for many yrs. Blessed to have Dr O who has treated us all above & beyond; utilizes his gastroenterology expertise experience to the highest caliber of quality professionalism, updated with newest knowledge, advance technology in treatments from acid reflux, Hepatitis C, ulcers, stomach, esophagus, colan cancer etc. He's made us comfortable prior any procedure and after. Courteous & professional staff; especially John who had to reschedule my appt., he explained why & did expedite rescheduled appt. within a week. Tks. Dr O & John, staff D.Martin"

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google May 25 2019

"I was very happy with my experience with Dr. Otero. My colonoscopy was not as bad as I expected nor was the prep. At my follow-up, I met with his PA, Anna, and she was so friendly and took her time with me. Thumbs up from me!"

5.0 Review from A.I. Source: Google May 25 2019

"Excellent Dr. and very good medical ethics. Provides greart comfort and reasurrance. Would not change the Dr and staff for anything. Keep up the good work."

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google May 25 2019

"Staff is always friendly & helpful."