Patient Reviews

The GI professionals at San Antonio Gastroenterology Associates are dedicated to providing compassionate care to all of our patients. By utilizing new and innovative technologies and advanced treatment approaches, we are proud to be one of the largest gastroenterology groups in the San Antonio, TX area. We take the time to make sure our patients feel heard and that their treatment plans are created with their needs in mind. You don't have to take our word for it — please take some time to browse through reviews left by past and present patients.

5.0 Review from H.S. Source: Google Jul 11 2024

"Pleasant experience and staff was the best"

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google Jul 04 2024

"My visit with Dr Alvarez was great"

5.0 Review from R.K. Source: Google Jul 04 2024

"My recent visit on 2/23 was awesome. Love Dr John Jacob Alvarez and coordinator Eddy. They’re like friends or family. Always very concerned with my medical conditions. If it wasn’t for them and Eddie’s constant persistence,I wouldn’t be receiving my biologic meds with a subsidize program at no co-pay cost. I look forward to my quarterly visits."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"The Dr was very knowledgeable and explained my diagnosis thoroughly; he had a treatment plan that is very helpful in diminishing my back pain."

5.0 Review from F.L. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"Dr Alvarez is very professional and takes the time to listen to my concerns. He is an excellant doctor"

5.0 Review from N.L. Source: Google Jul 03 2024

"Excellent and very professional staff. Dr. Alvarez talks to his patients with great concern , care and good professional advice."

4.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google Jun 21 2024

"Your customer service at your Christus, Santa Rosa location is exceptional. They provided nothing other than first class service. The weight was a little long, but that’s OK. Even though he was the bearer of bad news, Dr. Alvarez Treated us with first class treatment .Thank you all for your help."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Jun 11 2024

"Doctor was very professional, friendly and willing to answer my questions."

5.0 Review from S.R. Source: Google Jun 01 2024

"Dr. Alvarez listens intently. He views patients labs and makes through recommendations of labs, xrays, procedures to help patient's diagnosis."

5.0 Review from R.T. Source: Google May 25 2024

"He is the best. Thanks"

5.0 Review from P.C. Source: Google May 25 2024

"Very professional."

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Dr. John J. Alvarez is a very knowledgeable and professional doctor. I will continue to see him for future medical needs. I highly recommend him. Thank you Dr. Alvarez."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Doctor Alvarez is a great physician. He takes time and listens to your concerns and addresses them."

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Caring and thorough communication."

5.0 Review from S.A. Source: Google May 08 2024

"Husband had a colonoscopy 2 days ago. Dr J Alvarez was excellent professional compassionate courteous. His staff also. I recommend him highly. The parking is easy also. Aldridge"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Apr 12 2024

"Dr Alvarez was very interested in what I was going through. He ordered test which I need to put my mind at ease."

5.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google Mar 29 2024

"Dr.Alvarez was genuine and I felt very comfortable with him performing my procedure. However, NO BEARING ON DR. ALVAREZ, but outpatient surgery scheduling is important It takes a certain type of attitude, attention, and servant leadership to assist people during a period of uncertainty. The gentleman that "assisted" me with my scheduling was NO ASSISTANCE, provided the procedure location 2 hours before the appointment, I never received the details he said that was on 4:07 pm on a FRIDAY. I called the office multiple times no call back. I had to call my doctor's office and ask them to call them, so they would call with the information. THANK YOU DR. ALVAREZ FOR LOCATING, REMOVING THE ISSUE, AND REPAIRING THE BREACH, U R THE BEST!!!!!"

5.0 Review from T.J. Source: Google Mar 20 2024

"Dr.Alvarez is kind , caring and attentive to all concerns-!! The best around -!!"

5.0 Review from E.G. Source: Google Mar 06 2024

"He Explained My Questions Exactly."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Mar 01 2024

"Great visit. The wait time was minimal. Met w Dr Alvarez. Had a good visit...nothing major to review. He spent enough time as needed to review my results from my last procedure."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google Feb 10 2024

"Highly professional effective medical care."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"Dr. Alvarez is always eagerly ready for his patients with the utmost professionalism. Dr. Alvarez is attentive to my needs and listens to me with care and confidence and makes sure that we have a good plan in place. And as difficult as it has been to work with the VA we still get through it together with a lot of patience on both sides. I’m grateful for him and the care he has provided me and will continue to. Thank you 🙏🏼"

5.0 Review from K.H. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"First visit Went super. From start to end."

5.0 Review from P.P. Source: Google Jan 27 2024

"Excellent doctor and very helpful staff!"

5.0 Review from J.O. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"Dr Alvarez is very professional and provides excellent medical feedback."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"The staff was great and gave very great service"

4.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Dec 20 2023

"Dr Alvarez was very professional and answer all my questions explain all I ask"

5.0 Review from A.F. Source: Google Dec 15 2023

"Excellent doctor, very professional and speaks English and Spanish very well."

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Google Dec 14 2023

"Dr. Alvarez deserves 10 stars! He has the best chairside and bedside manners helping explain and understand your diagnosis. He is the most empathetic physician I've ever experienced. You won't be disappointed with his expertise!"

5.0 Review from S.V. Source: Google Nov 16 2023

"Great and comfortable experience. No complaints."

5.0 Review from R.K. Source: Google Nov 12 2023

"Dr Alvarez is awesome. I’ve been his patient since 2019. He also had visited me at St Luke’s even prior to 2019. He’s observed all the progress I’ve made. He is really concerned regarding my GI health issues since I’ve had as (pediatric) a baby. He’s more than an awesome Gastro physician. I consider him a friend. 💙"

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"De Alavez is very patient and attentive to listening to the medical condition I’m going through, very professional along with his team , I recommended with 5 starts"

5.0 Review from G.W. Source: Google Oct 06 2023

"Had a great visit with the doctor. Office staff very cordial and I didn’t have to wait long."

5.0 Review from D.D. Source: Google Oct 06 2023

"Always seen in a timely manner & Dr. Alvarez always has time and doesn’t rush through my appointment"

5.0 Review from N.G. Source: Google Sep 29 2023

"Dr. Explains everything to myself and my mom"

5.0 Review from Y.D. Source: Google Sep 20 2023

"Dr Álvarez and his staff are so kind and professional. I don’t have any complaint about them."

5.0 Review from C.A. Source: Google Aug 26 2023

"Short wait, caring doctor, nice staff"

5.0 Review from A.H. Source: Google Aug 15 2023

"Grat and very professional and all the team is very kind and friendly"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google Jul 04 2023

"Dr. John J. Alvarez is very knowledgeable and professional doctor. I will continue to see him for future medical needs. I highly recommend him. Thank you Dr. Alvarez."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Jun 30 2023

"This was my very first visit to this doctor.and I was very pleased the way He treated me. With a lot of respect and explained all that was going to be done.never have I been treated with such respect. I'm very grateful and completely satisfied."

5.0 Review from A.D. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"Dr. Alvarez takes his time during my appointments, asks questions and truly listens to me. It’s because of him, we are finally figuring out what is going on. My previous GI just wanted me to keep taking fiber, but that’s not what the issue was. I’m so thankful for Dr. Alvarez."

5.0 Review from D.D. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"Awesome doctor & staff"

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"Dr Alvarez took his time explaining my condition and addressing my concerns."

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google May 31 2023

"Dr. Alvarez has wonderful bedside manners. He takes the time to listen to me and answer any questions that I have."

5.0 Review from G.R. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Dr. Alvarez is very professional and caring. He explains everything very thoroughly. I very highly recommend him. Thank you Dr. Alvarez for your help and providing the best possible care."

5.0 Review from A.T. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Dr Álvarez is one of the kindest Dr’s I’ve had the pleasure of meeting. He made me feel like he genuinely cared about my situation. I was able to schedule an appointment with him within 2 days for a procedure that needed to be handled in a timely manner, he did everything in his power to make it happen. I highly recommend Dr Álvarez for all you gastrointestinal needs."

5.0 Review from G.L. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"I was quite impressed with Dr Alvarez, for a young Doctor he presents old fashioned doctors qualities and he actually spends time to hear and answer all your concerns. I feel very comfortable 😉👌"

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"A doctor who is very up to date in his medical area. He takes his time to explain everything and makes sure to clarify your doubts!"

5.0 Review from P.C. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Alvarez is professional, knowledgeable and compassionate. He patiently listened to my concerns and made me feel comfortable. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from H.D. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr Álvarez and the staff are wonderful. Very attentive to my needs. Thank you."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr. Alvarez played one of the most integral roles in my well being, not only physically, but mentally as well. I honestly couldn’t have asked for a more professional, kind, and understanding gastroenterologist. I’ve actually already referred others to him and his staff."

5.0 Review from I.G. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"The staff and Dr. were friendly and professional. While the wait was a bit long they have your visit set up to move you from one office space to another to be collect various vital data. The Dr. Is thorough and encourages pertinent dialogue. It was a very comfortable first visit."

5.0 Review from N.M. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"The office staff were very friendly and Dr. John Alvarez was very personable and informative. I really appreciate this kind of service"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez is a professional and knowledgeable individual with a great sense of humor. I’d recommend him to family and friends."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"He’s a great doctor doesn’t rush you . Got me in quickly. Scheduled colonoscopy appointment quickly. Just a nice doctor . Can’t say that about many ."

5.0 Review from P.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Outstanding doctor. This is my second endoscopy procedure done by Dr Alvarez. Both procedures were done with no complications and in a timely manner. Outstanding medical staff. Great job Dr Alvarez and staff!!!"

5.0 Review from D.L. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Office is nice and clean. The employees and doctor are friendly and knowledgeable."

5.0 Review from N.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez is top notch! His compassion and skills are wonderful! He takes the time both to listen and explain."

5.0 Review from R.A. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez is awesome. Very knowledgeable and professional. He answered all my questions and concerns."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Oct 31 2022

"Excellent doctor, concerned about his patients, attentive, affectionate, I recommend him"

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"(Translated by Google) Excellent doctor, concerned about his patients, attentive, affectionate, I recommend him (Original) Excelente médico,preocupado por sus pacientes,atento,cariñoso ,lo recomiendo"

5.0 Review from S.A. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez saved my life! He made me feel comfortable and made sure I understood what would happen with each procedure. He has an excellent bedside manner. I hope I never need to see him again, but if I do I know I'll be in good hands with Dr. Alvarez."

5.0 Review from L.A. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Friendly , knowledgeable , confident just a couple of words that describe Dr Alvarez ."

5.0 Review from B.O. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I prefer the medical area office but Euclid office is well staffed with a great crew. Dr. Alvarez is wonderful and sees me every 6 mos to make sure I’m doing well."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Great doctor so far. It was my first visit."

5.0 Review from T.J. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez is very personable and compassionate-! Listens intently and has complete follow-through with your concerns-! Would highly recommend him to anyone with gastric issues-!"

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Great doctor, the office is so attentive and fast at responding to anything you need."

5.0 Review from F.B. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Knowledgeable, listens well, cured me of longstanding issue."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Oct 02 2022

"10 years ago I had a colonoscopy with Dr. Ramos. And in 20022 the second one followed, but they told me now it will be Dr. Alvarez, I don't know him and to my surprise, how kind the doctor and his staff were, for their attention. Thank you"

5.0 Review from K.R. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez was very kind, professional, and knowledgeable. I felt he took a personal interest in me and my health."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I enjoyed meeting Dr. Alvarez to discuss my upcoming procedure. His patient and caring spirit was evident during our conversation, and I feel comfortable knowing he will be conducting my upcoming procedure."

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"My experience with Dr. Alvarez has always been very good. No matter how minor or serious your problem is. He takes the time to listen to you. And I've never seen him in a bad mood. Always comes in and greets you with a smile. And doesn't make you feel like an insurance claim. I have seen many doctors over the years and I can say with a sincere heart Dr. Alvarez is a professional,very knowledgeable, and very caring. It's a shame not all doctors could be like him. I would highly recommend Dr. Alvarez to anyone who needs a Gastroenterology doctor."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very concerning and tries to help regardless of the condition. #1"

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"He's a good doctor and I believe that he wants to get to the source of the problems I am having with my stomach."

4.0 Review from D.A. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Stuff is very nice doctors very professional takes his time to explain to you would highly recommend"

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Jul 31 2022

"10 years ago I had a colonoscopy with Dr. Ramos. And by 20022 the second was still going on, but they told me now it will be Dr. Alvarez, I don't know him and to my surprise, what kindness of the doctor and his staff, for your attention Thank you"

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Clean and friendly staff.. Dr. Alvarez is someone I would highly recommend. He is very kind and patient. Always explains things thoroughly and very professional."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"(Translated by Google) 10 years ago I had a colonoscopy with Dr. Ramos. And by 20022 the second was still going on, but they told me now it will be Dr. Alvarez, I don't know him and to my surprise, what kindness of the doctor and his staff, for your attention Thank you (Original) Hace 10 años tuve, colonoscopy con el doctor Ramos.y para el 20022 seguia la segunda , pero me dijeron ahora va a ser el doctor Alvarez, no lo conosco y para mi sorpresa , que amabilidad del doctor y su personal,por su atencion Gracias"

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez is extremely qualified, caring and compassionate. He is a professional. He's the best in my view."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez was professional, capable, friendly, and did a great job."

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I met Dr. John Alvarez, for the first time, just about 2 weeks ago. I wanted to have a deep and thorough conversation with my new doctor, as I have a very complicated health history and my colonoscopy and endoscopy were due. I was very pleased and put at ease with Dr. Alvarez' professionalism, his patience and his willingness to LISTEN! I highly reccomend the office of Dr. John Alvarez."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr John Alvarez is very professional at his work, and his staff is also I Highly recommend him. Happy New Year too Dr Alvarez and staff keep up the great work. 👍"

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez was very thorough explaining all my test results."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My experiences with dr. Alvarez have been very enlightening and very helpful and being he's my new doctor is taking over for my formers gastrologist I am very much pleased I would recommend him to anyone he does such a great job his bedside manner makes you feel more like family than like a patient and that's how I feel with all my doctors cuz we have to be family in order to make things work in unison Saga"

5.0 Review from K.&. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez...is first and foremost a great listener. He actually listens to what symptoms you are having and helps formulate a health plan that will work for you."

5.0 Review from C.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. J.Alvarez has been most caring and simple in his approach to addressing symptoms and concerns. I always feel free to ask questions and he truly listens. I find him knowledgeable in his specialty. It is regretful that his assistant/staff do not return calls and do not communicate test results"

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez Is very caring and understanding. He takes time to listen and genuinely cares about what you're feeling. I feel comfortable talking to him. He spends time explaining my condition and answering all of my family's questions and concerns on every visit. Other doctors never fully listened or cared. Some even interrupted me when I was explaining my symptoms...Not Dr Alvarez. He took interest and was able to diagnose and treat my ulcerative colitis. He helped me through several treatment options until we found the one that worked for me and accomplished remission this year. I'm forever extremely thankful for Dr. Alvarez!"

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Literally the only doctor that's ever taken the time to HEAR me. Sharp, honest, and caring staff you won't find anywhere else!"

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Excellent doctor!"

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very informative and took the necessary time to understand my issues. We now have a plan unlike other GI doctors I’ve seen in the past."

5.0 Review from V.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Alvarez was very attentive and treated me with respect. I felt he did a thorough procedure of my pancreas and I have confidence in his ability as a gastroenterologist. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from N.O. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr.Alvarez was very awesome. For years I suffered from a issue he solved it pretty quick I’m very happy and thankful. He would definitely recommend him."

5.0 Review from L.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. John J. Alvarez is very knowledgeable, compassionate and caring! He listen to you and make you feel very welcome! I highly recommend Dr. Alvarez for your Gastroenterology needs!"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Hands down the best GI. If you are looking for a Dr. Dr Alvarez is the way to go. You will be very well taken care of. Plus his staff are also very helpful."

5.0 Review from H.A. Source: Google May 25 2022

"It was not easy for me to find or trust a Gastroenterologist since my bad experience with the previous one. Not to mention having to go through another endoscopy. Dr John Alvarez erased that from my memory from the first time I visited his clinic. Dr Alvarez Liston to you , answers all your questions and explains everything patiently and he is very understanding to your needs. Thank you for being my DOCTOR"

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr.Alvarez and his staff were very kind to me from day 1, he is very professional and he listens to his patients. I told him what the issue was and the next week I had the colonoscopy done. He is definitely going to be my new GI Physician, if you are looking for a kind, professional MD, he is the guy for you."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I will do my part to stay healthy and whole. However if I ever need Dr Alvarez again I will definitely call on him."

5.0 Review from D.Z. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr.Alvarez took the time to listen to all of my concerns and made me feel very comfortable. Explained the procedures and made me feel at ease. Great dr."

4.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very nice GI doctor..he explains things to you and is very professional..and smiles at you. In my last visit he took care of my problem by ordering the right medications.good job doc"

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google Nov 18 2021

"Awesome doctor great friendly staff. Thank you Dr Alvarez"

5.0 Review from W.G. Source: Google Sep 18 2021

"VERY PUNCTUAL IN APPOINTMENTS.. PROFESSIONAL IN HIS BRANCH.. VERY SINCERE.. EXPLAINS EVERYTHING VERY WELL.. VERY GOOD DOCTOR.. AND THE BEST OF ALL IS THAT HE STILL HAS NOT FORGET HIS ROOTS AND SPEAKS VERY GOOD SPANISH... I RECOMMEND AS A PROFESSIONAL DOCTOR WHAT IS IT... EXCELLENT JOB."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Sep 11 2021

"Dr.Alvarez and his staff were very kind to me from day 1, he is very professional and he listens to his patients. I told him what the issue was and the next week I had the colonoscopy done. He is definitely going to be my new GI Physician, if you are looking for a kind, professional MD, he is the guy for you."

5.0 Review from W.G. Source: Google Jun 26 2021

"VERY PUNCTUAL IN APPOINTMENTS.. PROFESSIONAL IN HIS FIELD.. VERY SINCERE.. EXPLAINS EVERYTHING VERY WELL.. VERY GOOD DOCTOR.. AND THE BEST OF ALL IS THAT HE STILL HAS NOT FORGOTTEN HIS ROOTS AND SPEAKS VERY GOOD SPANISH... I RECOMMEND AS A PROFESSIONAL DOCTOR WHAT IS IT... EXCELLENT JOB."

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Awesome doctor great friendly staff. Thank you Dr Alvarez"

5.0 Review from C.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He is very good and knowledgeable he wants to get to the bottom of your problems"

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google May 25 2021

"If you are looking for a Gi consider Dr Alvarez. Hands down the best."

5.0 Review from Y.G. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I was very nervous about my procedure but everyone from the staff to Dr. Alvarez was very attentive towards my needs and personal concerns. The attending Anesthesiologist was reassuring and empathetic, which helped me immensely. I greatly appreciated the Nurses attention to detail and their commitment towards my wellbeing. Thank you to All, for making my experience more manageable."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr.Alvarez , he knows his job and can tell you what he is going to do in a way so you can understand it.I would go back any time. Thank you Dr.Alvarez"

5.0 Review from P.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr.Alvarez was the first to diagnose me and helped me manage my illness. He is very thorough and will answer any questions or concerns you have. You never feel rushed into anything and are given the opportunity to become familiar with the options to help you feel better. Thank you Dr.Alvarez"

5.0 Review from W.G. Source: Google May 25 2021

"(Translated by Google) VERY PUNCTUAL IN APPOINTMENTS.. PROFESSIONAL IN HIS FIELD.. VERY SINCERE.. EXPLAINS EVERYTHING VERY WELL.. VERY GOOD DOCTOR.. AND THE BEST OF ALL IS THAT HE STILL HAS NOT FORGOTTEN HIS ROOTS AND SPEAKS VERY GOOD SPANISH... I RECOMMEND AS A PROFESSIONAL DOCTOR WHAT IS IT... EXCELLENT JOB. (Original) MUY PUNTUAL EN LAS CITAS.. PROFESIONAL EN SU RAMO.. MUY SINCERO.. EXPLICA TODO MUY BIEN.. MUY BUEN DOCTOR.. Y LO MEJOR DE TODO ES QUÉ AÚN NO OLVIDA SUS RAICES Y HABLA UN MUY BUEN ESPAÑOL... LO RECOMIENDO CÓMO PROFESIONAL DOCTOR QUÉ ES.. EXCELENTE TRABAJO."